Golden Spread Council
Golden Spread Council


Annual Report




Camp Cards






C.O.P.E. Program




Cyber Chip


Eagle Scout Support



























Order of the Arrow




Program Preview




Scout Shop


Sporting Clays




Vision and Mission Statement


Youth Protection


Cub Scouting is a year-round family program designed for boys who are in the first grade through fifth grade (or 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 years of age).

Cub Scouts are organized by grade levels into “ranks” and “dens”, and are led by adult leaders. The “dens” together with the adult leaders and the committee form the “pack”. First grade boys are Tiger Scouts, second grade boys are Wolf Scouts, third grade boys are Bear Scouts, fourth grade boys are Webelos Scouts, and fifth grade boys are Webelos II Scouts.

Each of the ranks is earned by completing age appropriate activities and requirements, and by demonstrating a willingness to behave according to the ideals of Cub Scouting.

When a boy completes the Cub Scouting program he is ready for the next step, Boy Scouting!

Be A Scout click here to find something in your area!

Bobcat. All Grades.
The Bobcat rank is the first rank for all boys who join Cub Scouting.

Tiger Cub. 1st Grade.
Must be under the age of 8, have completed kindergarten or be in the first grade, or be age 7.
The Tiger Cub program is for first-grade boys and their adult partners. There are five Tiger Cub achievement areas. The Tiger Cub, working with his adult partner, completes 15 requirements within these areas to earn the Tiger Cub badge. These requirements consist of an exciting series of indoor and outdoor activities just right for a boy in the first grade.
Tiger Program Helps - Meeting Plans - Supplemental Meeting Plans

Wolf. 2nd Grade.
Must have completed first grade but not completed second grade, or be age 8.
The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade. To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.

Wolf Program Helps - Meeting Plans - Supplemental Meeting Plans

Bear. 3rd Grade.
Must have completed second grade but not completed third grade, or be age 9.

The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade. There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.
Bear Program Helps - Meeting Plans - Supplemental Meeting Plans

Webelos. 4th - 5th Grage. ,
Must have completed third grade but not completed fifth grade, or be age 10 but not yet 11 1/2.

This program is for boys who have completed third grade. A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award.

Webelos Program Helps - Webelos Plans
- Arrow of Light Plans

Cub Scouting means "doing." Everything in Cub Scouting is designed to have the boys doing things. Activities are used to achieve the aims of Scouting—citizenship training, character development, and personal fitness. Many of the activities happen right in the den and pack. The most important are the weekly den meetings and the monthly pack meetings.

Advancement Plan
Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.

Cub Scout Academics and Sports
The Cub Scout Academics and Sports program provides the opportunity for boys to learn new techniques, increase scholarship skills, develop sportsmanship, and have fun. Participation in the program allows boys to be recognized for physical fitness and talent-building activities.

Age-appropriate camping programs are packed with theme-oriented action that brings Tiger Cubs, Cub Scouts, and Webelos Scouts into the great out-of-doors. Day camping comes to the boy in neighborhoods across the country; resident camping is at least a three-day experience in which Cub Scouts and Webelos Scouts camp within a developed theme of adventure and excitement.

Volunteers are informed of national news and events through Scouting magazine (circulation 900,000). Boys may subscribe to Boys' Life magazine (circulation 1.3 million). Both are published by the Boy Scouts of America. Also available are a number of Cub Scout and leader publications, including the Tiger Cub Handbook, Wolf Cub Scout Book, Bear Cub Scout Book, Webelos Scout Book, Cub Scout Leader Book, Cub Scout Program Helps, and Webelos Leader Guide.

Cub Scouting Ideals
Apart from the fun and excitement of Cub Scout activities, a number of ideals are expressed in the day-to-day life of the boy and his leaders.

Cub Scout Promise
I, (name), promise to do my best
To do my duty to God and my country,

To help other people, and
To obey the Law of the Pack.

Cub Scout Motto
Do Your Best.

Tiger Cub Motto
Search, Discover, Share.

Law of the Pack
The Cub Scout follows Akela.
The Cub Scout helps the pack go.

The pack helps the Cub Scout grow.
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.

The Cub Scout colors are blue and gold. The blue stands for truth and spirituality, steadfast loyalty, and the sky above. The gold stands for warm sunlight, good cheer, and happiness. Together, they symbolize what Cub Scouting is all about.

School Night
Click here for more Information.

Privacy Policy - | - Email Us - | - Site Map - | - Login - | - Last Updated May 27, 2016
Calendar Calendar